Just Because Yesterday Was Halloween


In light of the fact that yesterday was Halloween,  I tried to remember the scariest costume I had ever seen.  But the truth is I can’t ever remember being scared of someone dressed up for this occasion.  That doesn’t mean I haven’t found other things scary.

I remember as a kid I saw a movie called “The Bad Seed.”  Scared the shit out of me.  Just read the synopsis on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Bad_Seed_(1956_film)

This was the first movie that me aware of psychopaths.  If you think about, that’s a lot for a young kid to handle, the idea that sometimes bad people appear to be good people.  Another movie prominent in my memory bank is called, “Night of the Living Dead”: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Night_of_the_Living_Dead.  For some reason unknown to me, I used to worry, lying in bed late at night in the dark, that zombies would come out of my closet, so I always made sure the doors were closed.

Then when I was a teenager, my best friend and I would watch horror-gore movies.  In this genre, the movies are blood-filled, and violent, folks losing limbs and such, just downright gory.  For some reason these movies were campy to me because the violence was so over the top that they became funny.

Now, however, I avoid anything that tries to make me scared.  That’s because when you get to be my age, you’ve had the shit scarred of you for REAL, and probably on more than one occasion.  In addition, I know the older a person gets the more the chances increase that you can be scared to death.  Literally.  Like those folks that have heart attacks during earthquakes.  And you no quiero morir, muchos gracias, so I avoid watching TV news, hold on to my movie money for funny flicks with a happy ending and on occasion,  I’ve been known to hold my hands over my ears and loudly sing off-key, “La, la, la, la, la……at the sound of any conversation that seems to be going down a tragic path.    It is also unlikely that you will ever catch me on a roller coaster again as I don’t even like the anticipation of that feeling you get when you are at the top of the rails poised to speed down what appears to be a giant vertical drop.

Other things scare me too, in 2014, so I decided to make a very short list.  Here goes:

  1. Getting the stomach flu, especially when I am not a home.
  2. The sound of police helicopters hovering above or close to my house.
  3. The fear that I get robbed again, and have to replace my credit cards, cell phone and the locks on my house.
  4. Anyone in my family needing further medical tests.
  5. Driving with less than a quarter of tank of gas.

Overall, I find myself wondering about the authors of horror media.  I mean really, how can you make up some of the Steven King writes about?  I absolutely do not want to know how the criminal mind works.  For me, it is just plain TMI.

 

Leave a Reply

