You Can’t Make This Stuff Up


If you like to read, than you never even have to think about your answer to the question, “Fiction or Non-Fiction?” I guess it is like mustard.  Most people love it or hate it, am I right? Most people don’t “kinda” like mustard.   Anyway, I read a lot.  Not whole books but lots of other stuff and it all falls into the category of non-fiction.  I guess I am drawn to non-fiction because I am constantly surprised about what goes on this world.  For me real life is far more unpredictable that what can be made up. I think one of the main reasons I get out of bed in the morning is just to see what is going to happen next.  Curiosity is a terrific motivater.  At least it is for me.

So this morning, I go to my computer and hunt down the e-mail from Home Depot that tells me the status of my order for a new bedroom rug.  I find the e-mail, click on the UPS tracking number and up comes their screen that looks like this:

Top of Form

Shipment Progress

  • What’s This?
Location Date Local Time Activity
Jackson, MS, United States 10/31/2013 10:12 A.M. Train derailment.
Atlanta, GA, United States 10/28/2013 11:28 P.M. Departure Scan
10/28/2013 8:14 P.M. Origin Scan
10/28/2013 7:27 P.M. Forwarded to the facility in the destination city.
United States 10/28/2013 3:46 P.M. Order Processed: Ready for UPS

I thought to myself, ‘Holy crap,’ there was a train accident.  ‘Was anyone hurt,’ I wondered.  I checked my Yahoo home page, currently my most used source of news.  Nothing about a derailment in Jackson, Mississippi.  Then I googled it and sure enough there it was on the webpage of channel 16, WAPT News in Jackson, MS.  Here’s the link in case you want to read about it or watch their video:

http://www.wapt.com/news/central-mississippi/jackson/train-derails-in-jackson/-/9156912/22697576/-/12eil1nz/-/index.html

I read enough to find out that no one was injured and then I began to think about whether or not I would get my rug.  And as I ruminated about how this incident affected my decorating plan for the master bedroom, I also thought it was a bit weird that UPS would have reported this on their Tracking page for customers.  I don’t know, maybe it is me, but I think if it had been my job to write the descriptor of this problem, I would have said something, milder,  and more simple, like “Delayed.”  I mean really, did I NEED to know a train derailed and all that might imply?

But if someone ever comments on my “new” bedroom rug, if it ever arrives, I will have a story to tell.  And it will be non-fiction, ‘cause you can’t make this stuff up.

Leave a Reply

