My Personal Triptik


There is an old Buddhist saying that goes,” Happiness is a journey not a destination.” I respectively disagree.  This time.  Because after months of anticipation and several plane rides I have arrived at my destination. 

At this very moment I am sitting at the kitchen table of my cottage situated up the hill of a town located in eastern Maine.  It is almost 6 pm and the light is filling the space of the room.  And if I slightly shift the focus of my eyes a little to the left, I can see the Atlantic Ocean, perfect blue dotted with lobster boats. What isn’t this perfect blue in color, is either forest green or bright white. This is the destination, at least for our summer vacation, that I was talking about.

I wrote those two paragraphs above a couple of days ago.  I was exhausted.  I had worked too hard, in all areas of my life, for nearly a year.  So by the time I had arrived in Maine for two weeks in the summer of 2013, with its cool breezes, and picturesque town I felt relieved and angry—at myself.  I had let my “life” (if my life is defined as the things I do with my time), consume me.  I almost totally forgot about me.  So it was with that spirit that I dissed that Buddhist saying because how else could I have justified my lack of self-care.  And so today, I am certain the Buddhists were indeed right.  Therefore, I decided I needed to work on my future “travel” plans.  If I am going to continue my journey it isn’t going to be in the back of some old truck  with worn out shock absorbers on bumpy roads.  Nope.  Never again.  Too old.

I’ve decided to upgrade my seat on the plane of life,  From this day forward,  the journey is going to get a whole lot better.  But don’t ask me how I am going to accomplish this.  I don’t know yet.  But, hopefully, with a lot of self-reflection and advice from loved ones, I will figure it out. Soon.

This is because I have seen what I want to eventually become.  While here in Maine, I have observed many women here, probably 10 to 15 years older than me.  Beautiful women, with soft gray hair, and slightly weathered REAL content faces.  They exude a certainly sweetness and wisdom not demonstrated by long preachy lectures, but an air of knowing.  Not arrogance but knowing.  I have decided I would like to grow into one of these kinds of women.  And if I take better care of myself and get lucky, perhaps I will. Something tells me these women have enjoyed the “journey.”  I don’t know how I know this.  I just know it.

 

Leave a Reply

